The Quest for Softer Yarn

So I knit. A lot. I started knitting on a loom about a year ago, and now it seems like I’ve always got something going on at least one loom all the time. Because yarn can be expensive, when I’m just knitting something for the fun of it, I’ll use a cheaper yarn. Cheap yarn can be scratchy, so when I ran across this pin from A Girl and Her Needle, I was excited to try it.

Image

The pin is pretty straightforward, and the directions are incredibly easy to follow. So before I set out to knit myself a hat (never too early to start on winter projects!), I decided to give this method a go.

What I Like:

  • The method is incredibly simple
  • My yarn did turn out a bit softer — definitely feels better in my hands as I’m knitting
  • The bag kept the yarn contained in the washer/dryer

What I Don’t Like:

  • The yarn didn’t turn out very much softer, even after washing it twice
  • The inside of the skein was still wet after a round in the dryer; it took three full rounds to get the entire skein dry
  • My yarn unraveled in the bag a bit, so I had some untangling to do after pulling it out

The Verdict:

This seemed like a whole lotta work for such a small reward. Although the yarn did feel a bit softer and was not as rough on my hands while knitting, I could not tell a big enough difference to warrant the multiple rounds through the dryer. I’ll stick with washing my items after they’re done.

Happy pinning!

Leave a Reply

