Cookie Cake

I had my parents over for dinner tonight, and as I was making a list of everything I needed for our “fancy” (i.e. cheap and easy) spaghetti dinner, I remembered a pin about a huge chocolate chip cookie baked in a cast iron skillet. Thankfully, I had all the ingredients I needed, so we had a yummy dessert to spice sweeten up our meal.

Here’s the original pin from sophistimom.com:

Image

How good does that look? I mean, come on, who can resist a ginormous cookie in a skillet? Certainly not I. For once, I followed the recipe exactly:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  • Melt 8 Tablespoon butter (or one stick) on medium-low heat
  • Stir in 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup light brown sugar, and one teaspoon vanilla extract, then remove from heat
  • Let rest for five minutes
  • Crack in one egg and whisk together with a fork
  • Put 1 1/2 cups flour (plus one teaspoon baking powder if using AP flour), 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, and 1/4 teaspoon salt on top. Carefully stir until well-blended
  • Stir in one cup chocolate chunks (okay, so I deviated a tiny bit and dumped in the rest of a bag of chocolate and peanut butter chips without measuring)
  • Bake for 15-20 minutes (SEE NOTES BELOW!!)

I forgot to take a picture of how mine turned out before we dug into it, so here’s the best you get from me tonight:

Image

What I like:

  • Holy cookies, Batman, this is delicious!
  • Can’t get much easier than tossing everything in a skillet
  • My 8″ skillet is the perfect size for everyone to have a slice of cookie and still have some left for tomorrow (such a healthy breakfast we’ll have!)
  • The cookie didn’t stick to my skillet like I thought it was going to

What I don’t like:

  • Although the website provided a warning that baking time is not exact, this took a lot longer than I expected. I started at 15 minutes and then kept adding a bit more at a time until it looked done. Mine took a total of 28 minutes before the edges looked a bit crispy
  • If you are planning on serving it as one large cake and don’t want to serve straight out of the skillet, it might be a bit difficult to get out. I don’t know because I didn’t try it, but it was a bit tricky to get the first piece out when I cut it

The Verdict:

Somebody make me this for my birthday. No wait, I’ll make one for myself. And not share. Really, everybody needs to go and make this right now. No excuses!

Happy pinning!

Leave a Reply

