Homemade Italian Dressing (in a bag)

Okay, so this isn’t really about a pin, but it’s related to a pin. That’s okay, right? Right.

Some of you may have read my post about mini tacos and roasted zucchini where I mentioned marinating the zucchini in Italian dressing. At the time of the post, I poured homemade dressing from a jar in my fridge into a baggie in order to marinate the zucchini, but this is a much easier method that I have been using lately. When my jar ran empty, I thought it would be silly to mix up a big batch just for dinner tonight, so I mixed up a smaller one directly into the bag.

When I make Italian dressing, I usually use roughly a 1:1 ratio of vinegar and oil. It usually comes out to about 1 c vinegar and 1 1/3 c oil. Just for this small batch, I used 4 tablespoons of each, which was perfect for my sandwich bag/one zucchini. Then I added a small squeeze of honey, a generous shake of premixed Italian herbs (basil, oregano, thyme, rosemary, and marjoram), a dash of garlic powder and salt, and a couple twists of the pepper grinder. I’m not big on measuring my herbs — I just use whatever looks and feels right in the moment.

Make sure to seal up your baggie and give it a good shake before adding your veggies to make sure that everything is mixed up all nice and yummy-like. Yes, “yummy-like”. It’s officially a word now.

Image

Happy pinning!

Leave a Reply

