Mini Tacos and Roasted Zucchini

Tonight, I have to talk about two different pins because my dinner consisted of two different Pinterest recipes. Now I know what you’re thinking: mini tacos and roasted zucchini don’t go together. You might be right, but tacos are delicious, and roasted veggies are delicious, and I’m not good at planning meals that go together!

So here’s the first original pin from flickr.com:

Image

I admit, I made some changes to the recipe. I used 1 lb. ground turkey instead of beef, and I used pastry strips instead of wonton wrappers (hey, you use what you have sometimes!). Just pop your wonton wrappers into the bowls of a greased muffin tin, spoon in some taco-seasoned meat, top with cheese, and bake at 350 for 8 minutes. That’s it!

What I like:

  • These are so amazingly easy! Even with the pastry strip replacements, they are quick to whip up.
  • They’re also tasty. The pastry strips gave a definitely different flavour than taco shells, but very good.

What I don’t like:

  • I used packaged taco seasoning, and I wasn’t pleased.

The Verdict:

I’ll definitely make these again. Loved using the turkey meat, and I might try actually using wonton wrappers next time. I topped them with a dollop of sour cream and a few slices of cherry tomatoes (little tacos call for little tomatoes!), and they were absolutely delicious! I’ll probably make my own taco seasoning next time, as well.

Pin number two! Here’s the original pin from thegraciouspantry.com:

Image

Again, I altered the recipe a bit. The recipe calls for zucchini, yellow squash, olive oil, garlic powder, pepper, and Parmesan cheese. I just made zucchini, and I marinated it in homemade Italian dressing. (UPDATE: I like to use the Italian dressing in a bag method) Either way, chop these babies up, top/marinate, and bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

What I like:

  • These are so, so, so, so good! True, I don’t follow the recipe exactly…
  • I baked them on foil, so clean up was a cinch.
  • Doesn’t get much easier than chop, marinate, and bake.

What I don’t like:

  • Um… can’t think of anything I don’t love about this!

The Verdict:

Yes! I will make this all the time! Again, I didn’t exactly follow the recipe, but I’m sure it’s good the “original” way as well.

Here’s my plate, before I inhaled everything on it:

Image

So tacos and zucchini might not be the best partners, but they tasted pretty good tonight!

Happy pinning!

Leave a Reply

