Adventures in Pinning Begin … Now!

As a self-confessed Pinterest addict, I try to replicate tons of the pins I find on the site. Some of them turn out well, and some of them … well, don’t. This blog will document my attempts at everything, from recreating recipes and crafts, to trying out exercise routines, to cleaning “green”.

My first pin attempted was a wish bracelet from the awesome site http://www.happyhourprojects.com. Now, I’ve made bead and wire jewelry, and I’ve made hemp jewelry, so these cute little bracelets were too good to pass up. The idea is that you make a wish before you tie it on, and then as each bead eventually falls off, part of the wish is being released. When all the beads are gone, you get your wish. Here’s the original pin:

Image

Here’s how mine turned out:

Image

It would help if I would have taken the picture before I tied it on. So yeah, it’s a rather blurry picture of a wonky bracelet, taken over my laptop keyboard.

What I like:

  • I get a rather cute little bracelet to wear
  • These come together in no time flat
  • Using up leftover hemp and small beads is always a good thing

What I don’t like:

  • I had a hard time keeping my beads in a straight line like the picture
  • One side of the bracelet is a LOT longer than the other, but that’s my fault for being too lazy to get a ruler!

The Verdict:

These bracelets are just adorable. With a little practice, I’m sure I could make mine better. The pin includes easy-to-follow directions to recreating this wonderful craft so that anyone can do it. This would be a great summer craft to make and share with friends.

If you manage to recreate this bracelet better than I did (and I don’t doubt that you can!) feel free to send pictures to modestnecktie@gmail.com, and I’ll include some of them in another post.

Happy pinning!

Leave a Reply

